Skip to main content

Janos Scholz Musical Score and Personal Papers Collection

Identifier: CC 0005

Scope and Contents

The collection contains approximately 800 scores. Many of these scores date to the 18th and 19th century. A unique feature of the collection is Scholz's annotated piece for viola da gamba. The publication dates of the scores within the collection range from 1733-1988.


  • 1733 - 1993
  • Other: Date acquired: 1994


Conditions Governing Access

Collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Copyright is retained by the creators of items in these papers, or their descendants, as stipulated by United States copyright law. Manuscript collections and archival records may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information. Please see our Sensitive Materials Statement.

Biographical or Historical Information

Janos Scholz was a fifth-generation violoncellist in a musical family. He obtained his diploma from the Royal Hungarian Academy of Music in Budapest, where one of his teachers was Ernst von Dohnanyi. After graduating from the Academy, he became first cellist of the Budapest Symphony Orchestra. In 1932, he joined the Roth Quartet, which toured widely. When the group arrived in the United States in 1933, the rise of Fascism in Europe led its members to obtain U.S. citizenship, and Scholz took up residence in Manhattan. He was also an accomplished viola da gamba performer and was the first to record the Bach Gamba Sonatas. Besides editing texts for gamba music of Handel and Marcello and violoncello literature of the 18th century, Scholz was also an iconography specialist for instrument and musical subjects in painting. His notable collection of viola da gamba and cello bows now belongs to the Smithsonian Institution.


123.00 Linear Feet (82 boxes)

Language of Materials



Janos Scholz (1903-1993) is remembered as a distiguished performer, teacher, patron of the arts, and music historian. The Janos Scholz Musical Score Collection and Personal Papers Collection were willed by Scholz to Special Collections and University Archives in 1994. The collection contains rare historical pieces in addition to pieces with Scholz annotation from his time as Principal Cellist with the Budapest Symphony Orchestra (under Ernst von Dohnanyi) and from his time with the Roth Quartet.

In addition to the musical score collection, there is an additional collection of Scholz's personal papers and numerious monographs preserved by the Special Collections and University Archives.

Source of Acquisition

Janos Scholz

Method of Acquisition

The collection was willed to UNCG by Janos Scholz.

Separated Materials

Bound material from the Janos Scholz Cello Music Collection was separately cataloged into the Cello Books and Bound Scores Collection, Special Collections General, and the Women's COllection. This is searchable through the library catalog.

Offensive Language Statement

The UNC Greensboro University Libraries collects, preserves, and makes accessible unique and historical materials for learning and research. The nature of historical materials is such that some material may represent positions, norms, and values that are offensive and objectionable. These materials represent the opinions and actions of their creators. By providing access to these records in our reading room and through our digital collections, we recognize that archives and rare books can play a vital role in holding those creators accountable and in helping us learn from the past.

Our finding aids and other collection descriptions may occasionally re-use language provided by creators or former holders of the materials, but we strive to place outdated or offensive terminology in context. That said, we recognize that we may not always make the right decision and welcome feedback from all sources so we can learn and adjust our practices. Please contact us at if you encounter problematic language in our finding aids or other collection description. We will review the language and, as appropriate, update it in a way that balances preservation of the original context with our ongoing commitment to describing materials with respectful and inclusive language.

Processing Information

The collection was processed by Special Collections staff upon its donation in 1994. The collection was reinventoried and this finding aid created in October 2014. There has been no significant arrangement changes to the collection with the 2014 reprocessing.

Janos Scholz Musical Score and Personal Papers Collection
Stacey Krim
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the Martha Blakeney Hodges Special Collections and University Archives Repository

P.O. Box 26170
320 College Ave.
Greensboro NC 27402-6170 US